DIGGING FOR TROUBLE

INTO THE LION'S DEN

Twelve-year-old supersleuth Devlin Quick heads to Montana to dig out dinosaur bones, but instead she uncovers a mystery in this second book in the thrilling series from New York Times bestselling author Linda Fairstein

After successfully apprehending a map thief at the beginning of summer, Dev is going to spend the second half of her summer vacation in Montana with her best friend, Katie, exploring the outdoors and NOT getting into trouble. But after participating in a dinosaur dig, Katie and Dev suspect that someone bad is in the Badlands when Katie’s found fossils are switched out for old rocks. The good news? With Mom back in New York, no one can stop Devlin from investigating! But the fossil thief isn’t the only danger here, as snakes, scorpions, and bears abound, making Montana a treacherous place for finding answers.

And when the mystery takes Dev and Katie back to Manhattan—to the Museum of Natural History—the case gets even more complicated, even with Dev’s friend Booker there to help. Dev has to use her brains, brawn, and yes, okay, the lessons learned from her police commissioner mother if she wants to dig up the truth once and for all. This is the perfect read for fans of Nancy Drew and Theodore Boone.


Linda Fairstein
worked in the Manhattan district attorney’s office for more than two decades. Her Alexandra Cooper novels are international bestsellers and have been translated into more than a dozen languages. She lives in Manhattan and on Martha’s Vineyard. The Devlin Quick Mysteries are her first books for children. Learn more at www.LindaFairstein.com, or follow Linda @LindaFairstein.

Don’t miss Devlin Quick’s other adventures . . .

DIGGING FOR TROUBLE: TOUR

Tuesday November 7  6:00 – 8:00pm
Come launch DIGGING FOR TROUBLE at the brand new and always fabulous BOOKS OF WONDER at 217 West 84th Street in Manhattan

Wed November 8  7:00pm
Please join me for the CUYAHOGA COUNTY LIBRARY SYSTEM’s SPEAKERS’ SERIES on Wednesday, Nov 8 at 7pm.  Just next to CLEVELAND at the SOUTH EUCLID BRANCH of the library, 1876 South Green Road in South Euclid.

Thursday November 9
After some school events, I’ll be at ANDERSON’S BOOKSHOP in LaGRANGE, IL – that’s just outside CHICAGO at 26 LaGrange Road, in LaGrange, IL.

Wednesday November 15
Private event at THE CHAPIN SCHOOL BOOK FAIR in Manhattan.  If YOUR school holds a book fair, be sure to let me know if you would like me to show up with Devlin Quick!

Thursday November 16  6:00-7:30pm
I’ll be at my own favorite NYC bookstore – THE CORNER BOOKSTORE.  Please do come!   It’s a spectacular independent – and its cozy located at 1313 Madison Avenue.

Friday November 17  3:30 – 5:00pm
After a school event, you can find me at BALTIMORE’s amazing CHILDREN’S BOOKSTORE -737 Deepdene Road in Baltimore, MD.

Sunday, December 3  2:00 – 4:00pm
BARNES AND NOBLE in EASTCHESTER New York has a BOOK FAIR with Tuckahoe middle and high school.  Right near my home town – Mt. Vernon, NY.  680 White Plains Road – Eastchester, New York.  I know this will be nostalgic for me – and great fun.

MORE EVENTS TO BE ADDED!

Nothing less than one riveting read.

–BookPage

Ideal for bibliophiles and mystery fans alike.

–School Library Journal

From New York Times bestselling author LINDA FAIRSTEIN comes a thrilling mystery series–and an unstoppable heroine!

NANCY DREW for a new generation!

With all of the heart-pounding excitement that made her internationally bestselling Alexandra Cooper series a hit, Linda Fairstein paves the way for another unstoppable heroine... even if she is only twelve.

eReaderIQ

“The action-packed, first-person story is full of informational tidbits on beloved authors (Charles Dickens, Edgar Allan Poe, Mary Shelley, Jane Austen), cartographers, New York library history and much more. With a balanced mix of well-defined characters, engaging dialogue, cliffhanging chapters and unexpected scenes, this book is nothing less than one riveting read.”

BookPage

“A well-crafted and satisfying first volume in a new series. Ideal for bibliophiles and mystery fans alike.”

School Library Journal

“This likable gumshoe follows the trail from the library lions on 42nd Street to Brooklyn Public Library’s Central Building, and readers will be happy to go right along with her.”

Kirkus Reviews

DEVLIN QUICK FALL CONTEST

Tell us what your favorite middle-grade book is...and why!

GET IN TOUCH

We’d love to hear from you!

Please wait...

Subscribe to my newsletter

Want to be notified when we have news for you? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know..